How to Get an Accident Report Online
When you are involved in a Richmond accident, it is important to report the crash. Texas Transportation Code 601.004 requires you to report accidents involving injury, death, or property damage of at least $1,000. You should also consult a Richmond car accident lawyer in the wake of a wreck.
Once you report an accident, law enforcement officers arrive on the scene. The officers document the on-site evidence, take the statements of all concerned parties, and prepare a police report. This report plays an important role in any claims related to the accident.
When you are in the process of filing a car crash claim, you will need to access this report. The police report will become a part of the evidence you use to back up your claim. Here is a look at how you can get an online report for your Richmond accident.
How to Apply for the Crash Report
If a police report has been filed in connection with your accident, it becomes available on the Texas Department of Transportation Crash Report Online Purchase System, also known as TxDOT CRIS. It may take up to 14 days for a crash report to be available on CRIS.
The report may be filed by Richmond City Police Department officers or Fort Bend County Deputies, depending on who responded to your crash.
Types of Online Accident Reports
Two types of online reports are available for accidents. These include:
- Certified Reports – These reports cost $8 per copy. This type of report includes an additional official document that confirms that the report is a true and correct copy. You will need a certified accident report for legal proceedings.
- Uncertified Reports – These reports cost $6 per copy. They carry a basic stamped copy of the report. However, the official certifying document is not included in uncertified reports. You can get an uncertified copy for personal records but this type of report may not be used for legal purposes.
Who Can Apply for an Online Accident Report?
Texas Transportation Code Section 550.065 specifies the persons or parties who may apply for a crash report. As per this section, you can apply for the report if you are one of the following:
- A driver or non-driver person involved in the accident
- The representative of a person, or the employer or guardian of a driver, involved in the crash
- The owner of a vehicle or property damaged in the crash
- Insurance companies covering the persons, drivers, or vehicles involved in the crash
- Newspapers, radio, or television stations that meet specific requirements
Get Help from a Richmond Car Accident Lawyer
If you have been involved in a Richmond wreck, we can help you. Here at The Estes Law Firm, our lawyers help you get crash report copies as well as other evidence to support your crash claim. We also make sure that you meet other legal requirements when seeking compensatory damages.
Call us today at 281-238-5400 or fill out the form to discuss your car crash claim with our lawyers.