Sugar Land Car Accident Lawyer
If you have been in a car accident and are confused about the rules and regulations you need to follow, these questions and resources can help you. Getting into a car accident can be a confusing and hard time, so having the best Sugar Land car accident lawyer can make a difference.
Texas Car Accident Insurance Requirements
If you get into a car accident, it’s important you are driving with the minimum requirements for insurance so that the company will accept your claim and offer you a settlement. If you bought your car insurance in Texas and listed your address as Texas, you probably have these requirements as most states don’t allow you to buy less than the requirement.
In Texas, the minimum bodily injury liability is $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident if two people were injured. The minimum property damage liability is $15,000. The Texas small claims limit is $10,000.
Where to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit
In Texas, you might also hear about a personal injury venue, this just means where you should file the lawsuit. Some personal injury claims are considered small claims and can only be brought in the county where the defendant lives or does business. If your case is not a small claim, you need to file it with the County Constitutional Court or a County Court at Law.
You can either file it where you live or do business, where the defendant lives or does business, or where the accident occurred. If you need to file a claim against a government agency, then you might need to file separate claims against each agency to make sure all the claims are processed correctly.
Texas Personal Injury Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations is two years from the date of the injury. This means you have two years from the time you got injured to file the claim. It’s not two years from the time you started seeking medical care or talked to a lawyer.
There is an exception if you didn’t discover the injury right away. If your doctor determines the injury is a result of the car accident, then you have two years from the date of discovery to file a claim.
When to Partner with a Lawyer
If you aren’t sure where to file a claim, consulting with a lawyer can help. They will also be able to represent you in court or a lawsuit if you decide to take the claim further.
Get Ahold of an Auto Accident Attorney
If you are looking to partner with a Sugar Land car accident lawyer, The Estes Law Firm is here for you. Call us at 281-238-5400. You can also fill out our contact form. We have experienced multilingual attorneys that are ready to help you and get you the compensation you deserve.